Still Walking Like an Egyptian?

Posted: November 11, 2008 by Matt Horan in ReEmergent Church

By Matt Horan

          The other day I heard my four-year-old, Ashley, singing to herself while she was playing with somemotley-crue1 toys on her bedroom floor.  It was so cute, but I couldn’t make out what she was singing, so I listened a little closer.  Maybe a song from Sunday school?  A VeggieTales song?  A Disney movie song?  Finally, I could hear her:
          “You spin me right ’round baby right round like a record baby right round round round…”
          Okay, so we listen to 80’s songs around here a little too often, obviously.  Once while Walk Like an Egyptian was on, our seven-year-old, Jenna, asked, “Daddy, what is this song about?”
          “Well, Jenna, to be honest, most of the songs from the 80’s don’t make any sense at all.”
          “They don’t?”
          “Not really.”  Walk like an Egyptian ended, and I waited for the next song to start, to see if my theory about the themelessness of the 80’s was valid.  Angel is the Centerfold came on, and I quickly moved to the CD player to start up their Vacation Bible School CD from last summer.  
          What is the appeal of 80’s music, anyway?  Do your best to find 80’s songs with any kind of purposeful theme.  And look at what the bands were wearing.  In fact, look at what we were wearing when we were listening to them!
          The lyrics have no value, the clothes are atrocious, yet they continue to play in my house.  Why?  I’d the first to admit that no one in the 80’s holds a candle to some of today’s music.  U2, Lifehouse, Linkin Park, Newsboys, David Crowder, Robbie Seay Band, John Mayer…  Sometimes today’s artists remake 80’s songs into something special.  Phil Collins sings Cyndi Lauper’s True ColorsHave you heard Fall Out Boy do Michael Jackson’s Beat It?  Awesome.
          I guess it’s the nostalgia.  80’s songs remind me of when I was a kid, having fun, no responsibility other than trying to learn to turn a double play in little league, or remembering which order the “s” and “c” go when spelling “conscience.”  It was a good time–why not try and remember it?  Why let it go?
          Music was good back then, and it’s good today.  I guess sometimes I forget that music might be as good as it was before in the future.  In fact, music has been around for thousands and thousands of years.  Do I really think that it will never be able to top what it did in the 80’s?  No, of course not, but there’s just something comforting about walking on sunshine.  I’m afraid of waiting for the world to change.  
          Takes some faith to believe that the future might be as good as the past.  Maybe better.  It takes  faith to give up my time listening to the 80’s so that I can listen to what the music is doing today.  I can’t listen to both at the same time, that’s for sure.  Turns out that embracing what’s new might cost me what’s old.  Do I have faith that music can be good all the time.  Do I have faith that all the time, music can be good?  Am I willing to see what music is up to, or will my memories of what music did 20 years ago make me miss the new music entirely?  How tragic would it be if some amazing new music came out, but I missed it because I refused to believe that anybody could topTainted Love?

Leave a Reply

