Future Church

Posted: March 16, 2009 by Matt Horan in ReEmergent Church
Tags: ,

futurechurchBy Matt Horan

          I had to microwave something today for three minutes and thirty seconds.  It was an eternity.
          I have a Blackberry.  It finds things out for me whenever I want.  I found out that Florida State beat North Carolina in the ACC tournament yesterday while standing in line at “The Wild Surge” ride at Busch Gardens.
          I have a Facebook page, and can usually find out about anyone from any point in my life just by typing their name in.  In fact, I can do that from my Blackberry while standing in line for “The Wild Surge” at Busch Gardens.
          Because of all of these developments, I have the attention span of a fruit fly.  Okay, well, it was like that before, but these have surely exacerbated the situation.  Come to think about it, I don’t think I’ve ever typed “exacerbated” before.
          There… see what I mean?
          So what will the church be in the future, in light of these developments?  A couple possibilities:
          Will we be a network, rather than a gathering, of people?
          What will bind us together?  Common beliefs?  Common mission?  An easily accessible means of interface?
          Will allegiance to one local church slowly become a thing of the past?  Will Christians be plugged in to many church networks, rather than just one?
          Will the largest churches be those most widely attended, or those whose pastors are most widely followed on Twitter?
          How will the Holy Spirit use technology in the future?  Which technologies will get in the way of our responding to the Spirit?
          What will happen to the church as face to face interaction is replaced by technological?

         Those are just a couple of the things I’ve been wondering about as I consider how to best lead the church in the 21st century.  I’d be glad to hear your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

