Vanishing Children

Posted: June 21, 2009 by Matt Horan in ReEmergent Church
Tags: , , , , , , ,

By Matt Horaninvisible-children2

I’ve always been inspired by the people who have life changing experiences that bond them to a cause, and that propel them to make a difference.  However, I’ve not really had this experience so far.
But there is a horrying injustice happening right now that, for whatever reason, has emerged for me as a cause that haunts me more than any other.  I’ve seen lots of movies that have made strong cases for their cause, but something about this one has really disturbed me.  Perhaps it’s because I have small children–I don’t know.  I do know that I really wish I could do something.
Every day in Uganda, small children are abducted and forced to become soldiers in a fanatical rebel army.  It is estimated that there are currently more than 3,000 children, some as young as eight or nine years old (that’s 3rd or 4th grade), who are currently being held against their will, forced to commit unimaginable atrocities against defenseless people of villages in Central Africa.
There are children who have been rescued from this life, but their future is not easily restored.  There is now an opportunity to help sponsor the delicate education of these children right here on the ReEmergent Church blog.  For every person that watches and rates a future Sprint commercial, Sprint will make a donation to this educational effort.  Please offer just a few seconds of your time to help!  Click the “Help Now” button on the far right column of the blog.

Leave a Reply

