It Seems Like Yesterday

Posted: February 1, 2016 by Matt Horan in Uncategorized

Jim Harnish

January 28, 1986, was a stunningly cold, crystal clear, sun-bright day in Florida.  I was at my desk in the church office in Orlando, working on my Lenten sermon series.  I knew there was a lift-off that day, but I confess that I had become so accustomed to them that I no longer rushed out to the parking lot to watch every time there was a launch from the Cape.

Suddenly a woman dashed into my office, shaking from head to foot, tears running down her cheeks as she said, “The Shuttle just exploded!”

Challenger Explosionss-160127-challenger-lookback-14_e06d43354b26514cd84f44fe80f81894.nbcnews-ux-1024-900

We went outside and stood for a long time staring speechless at the streak of white of cloud that began on the horizon, arose in a perfect arc into the sky, and then stopped abruptly.  It lingered in the still blue sky much longer than those trails usually did, a mute witness to an immense tragedy.

If my generation lost its…

View original post 669 more words

Leave a Reply

